London Pride 2008

This post was originally published on Gather.com, and is reproduced here (primarily to try to keep my writing in one spot).


In my last post I described attending Toronto Pride this year and how much I enjoyed it; yesterday (July 27) I attended a Pride celebration in London, ON (not London, England, you can be sure). It was a fun drive of a couple of hours, and we got to the celebration with hardly a mishap (although the exit was under construction… sigh…!)

I’ve told the story about experiencing Pride in Toronto and in Little Rock, Arkansas. I enjoyed them both. Pride in London had more history than Little Rock’s, and it was less intense than Toronto’s. There’s something good in that. Something more personal. And I think that is what pride should be about: it’s not about glitz, or exhausting yourself, or being one of a million attendees. It’s about enjoying yourself and your uniqueness. I think we should learn to do that every day.

There are more pictures (lots more pictures!) on my flickr site.

This entry was posted in Personal, Popular Culture, queer issues and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

