Stiletto Sprint

This post was originally published on Gather.com, and is reproduced here (primarily to try to keep my writing in one spot).


This is such a Canadian event. More than that, it is a totally Toronto event.

On the morning of September 11th, 2009, one of the local charities in the city that deals with the effects of cancer on women will be sponsoring a Stiletto Sprint: a chance for women to race each other in 3-inch heels for several cash awards, including the grand prize of $10,000. Women will compete in a series of 50m dashes for the chance to race in the final 100m race. I was pleased to hear that guys are not left out; there will be one race where men can compete, similarly in heels. I thought about trying it, but I know that I gave away my heels when I moved north from Arkansas. And I wasn’t very steady on them anyway. Though I do know some guys who would be able to compete quite effectively. The only thing is, the prize for the guys is only $1000. They say that’s because we don’t need as many shoes as they do, but they obviously don’t know the same guys I’ve known…!

This entry was posted in Gender Enjoyment and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

