Ordination

I recently attended and took pictures at a friend’s ordination (well: at the social part of the event, after the service). Having attended Bible College and myself working with a number of churches over the last few decades, I have many friends who have been called, been educated, and gone through the various rites of passage associated with ordination in different denominations. This was my first in an Anglican setting, so I was very interested. The day, of course, was all about Derwyn and his family, celebrating their newfound freedom as he completed his studies and took the steps toward his (and his family’s) new setting in Calgary. It took me a while to process the pictures (I’m almost a month late) but seeing them with a little bit of distance I was able to reflect a bit on the time I’ve had the opportunity to know them.

Derwyn is one of the few people who I know who has followed a path somewhat parallel to my own. His has nothing to do with homosexuality in the sense that mine does, but we both started in more conservative corners of the church and have felt lead to more traditional settings. We’ve had some great discussions, and in spite of the short time that we’ve spent together, I can’t help but feel accepted by him and his family: which is not something I’ve felt from a lot of people in the church of late. I think that’s one of the reasons I chose the above picture for this post; it bridges both the official, classical appearance of the church with the more relaxed and inviting atmosphere of our relationship. I feel fortunate to be able to call him, and his family, friends.

There are more pictures from this event on my Flickr Site.

This entry was posted in Communication, Personal, Values and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

