Zucchini Brownies

The image at right is one of a recent batch of zucchini brownies. Most of them are still in the pan; a few have been transferred to a plastic container for transfer to work and sharing. In the foreground is also a glass of iced tea; this picture had an odd consistency with the colour brown that I really enjoyed. Neither brownies nor iced tea lasted very long after the picture was taken.

This brownie recipe stems from my old days at Penn State; back when I was married to Kim (my once-wife) and was a student studying geography. Ah, the simplicity of things back then. Several of my friends were studying meteorology, including Lisa, from whom I got this recipe. I remember her husband, Rolf, telling me the recipe (for some odd reason) because he referred to the last ingredient as “nacl”. It took me a few seconds to realize he meant “salt” (NaCl).

I’ve made this recipe many times, most recently with fresh zucchini from the Maloca Community Garden. I regularly take it in to work, and some of our students asked for the recipe when last I produced them. I figured that it was about time to write it out in a more permanent form, since the copy I work from today is still in handwriting that is fifteen years old (or more), and spattered with spills and dribbles from many successful bakings over the years.

½ cup margarine
1½ cups sugar
½ cup vegetable oil
1 tsp vanilla
½ cup sour milk (or fresh milk with a tsp of lemon juice)
2 cups shredded zucchini
3 cups flour
4 tbsp cocoa
1 tsp baking soda
½ tsp cinnamon
½ tsp NaCl (salt)
¼ bag (about) chocolate chips (to taste)

  • The oven should be preheated to 350°F; grease a 9×13 in pan (not sure what that is in cm…)
  • Cream together the first four ingredients
  • Add the milk and the zucchini; mix well
  • Sift together the rest of the dry ingredients; combine them all together
  • Pour the mixture in to the pan; sprinkle the top with a layer of chocolate chips
  • Bake for 35-40 minutes.
This entry was posted in Culinary Explorations, Food, Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

