Allan Gardens

Tim came down to my workplace a few days ago (Nov. 15, 2013): we went out to lunch and walked to the local Allan Gardens: I believe it is the oldest, public conservatory in the city. Its history dates back over 150 years. Originally donated to the city in 1857, the current structure was built in 1910 after a fire, and has expanded in stages. It is maintained very well, and there are a variety of events that go on every year. The pictures at right are my favourites from the trip; the others are on my flickr site. (Yes, the bald guy is my hubby.) It’s one of those places downtown that I’m glad to visit during my year secondment with the Pay Equity Office; it’s about a 15 minute walk from my office, so is even possible on a lunch hour. I look forward to visiting a bit closer to Christmas: they apparently have an annual poinsettia display, and the Gardens can be toured by candlelight.

This entry was posted in Beyond Materialism, geography, Living in Canada, Personal, Popular Culture and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

