Spin Sisters (1)

I’m reading the book, “Spin Sisters”, by Mryna Blyth, once the editor of “Ladies’ Home Journal”. I’ve discovered it helps to keep notes on a  book as I’m reading: so I’m publishing those as I go along. In some cases I believe that helps to understand the book better. In this case it helps to remember why I never want to read this book again: and to reference specific parts of it later in my work.

The subtitle is rather long: “How Women of the Media Sell Unhappiness and Liberalism to the Women of America”. I found that subtitle helped in understanding Myrna’s perspective, but that it was wholly inaccurate overall. It seems to me that if anyone was unhappy in writing this book, it was Myrna herself: she seemed angrier than any author I’ve read of late. That’s her right; and, to be honest, I think it is quite appropriate. But I think she missed the point. If anything, it seems to me that she’s trying to live up to a goal prescribed by her conservative ideals, and has been unable to do so. Desperate to identify the blame, she lashes out at her colleagues and fellow “Women of the Media”, but if anything seems more jealous than anything else.

This entry was posted in Beyond Materialism, Communication, Gender Enjoyment, Politics, Popular Culture, Values and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

