Small Batch Preserving

It’s fall; the weather’s getting cooler and the plants are in full production. This year my work schedule was a little more strict during the day (since I was downtown and my commute was longer), but I still had plenty of time in the evening to work on my plot at Maloca Garden. (Those long summer evenings in Canada are wonderful.)  It was wonderfully productive: especially regarding cucumbers and kale and peppers. So we bought some tomatoes and decided to make some salsa.

We found a recipe in a book called “Small Batch Preserving”. Apparently we overdid it a bit; I think we tripled the recipe and came out with thirteen jars (pictured at right). With my mathematical mind I could not help but think in terms of return on investment: for $4.00 in tomatoes and about $3.00 in cilantro and jalapeño peppers, we probably made $30.00 worth of salsa. That doesn’t include the cost of my time of course, but nor does it reflect that I enjoyed the process and homemade salsa is always better. So very much worth it.

This entry was posted in Beyond Materialism, Culinary Explorations, Environmental Effort, Food, Living in Canada, Personal, Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Small Batch Preserving

  1. looks delicious! great idea, if i can find the time i would like to start doing this.

Leave a Reply

