Bird Watching

I am not much of a classic bird-watcher; my dad was a bit more of the note-taking, binoculars kind of explorer. I do like to see new visitors to our area; we have a number of bird feeders and have seen bluejays, woodpeckers, owls and we have one illustrious falcon that hunts in our area of the city. I’ve even seen a heron, though that was on my daily walk to work by the Humber River, not right in our backyard.

Still, my favourites remain the sparrows. They are the tabbies of the bird world. Sometimes we’ll get a couple of dozen around our feeders, and we’re glad to see they all get fed. Part of the New Year experience this year was unpacking a new birdhouse, and putting out a new kind of seed. I particularly liked the guy int his photo, who seemed to pause in his feeding and to be looking right back at me with a rather quizzical expression.

More pictures of my of the birds are available on my flickr site.

This entry was posted in Beyond Materialism, geography, Living in Canada, Personal, Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bird Watching

  1. DA Gerrald says:

    We love, love, love to watch birds. In Gnash, we fed lots of birds around our townhouse, and I hope to do the same now that I’m back on Portland. We had so many pretty cardinals in TN; don’t expect to see any in OR. I, too, like the little sparrows; they have a sweet little song. Many bird lovers don’t like sparrows because supposedly they can be mean to other birds, viciously taking over nests (so I’m told — I never saw them gang up on other birds) of native birds. I saw grackles be much more A-hole birds! They are lots bigger than sparrows, though. Enjoy the birds! I find it sort of contemplative and relaxing, a form of conscious meditation (like watching a fire burn). Very relaxing. 🙂

    • geographer70 says:

      Interesting. I had not done much research on sparrows; they’ve always been very common and I’d assumed were native… but apparently they were moved from Europe last century. Apparently an early example of an “invasive species” (introduced by another invasive species…). I know Tim would prefer we have more variety, but they are relaxing.

Leave a Reply

