Christmas Cake

This year Tim made another Christmas Cake. It took several weeks to bring into being, and literally pounds of candied fruit and nuts. We made sure to baste it repeatedly with a brandy wash over the weeks, and the last bit was a layer each of marzipan and royal icing. I think it was fully decorated for less than 24 hours before we decided to cut in to it: though I did get a couple of pictures first.

It’s always surprised me that some people claim that they do not enjoy Christmas Cake. For me it is one of the highlights of the season. It is definitely a holiday treat… I don’t think I’d enjoy such a heavy cake in July, but at this time of year I love it.

Next year I’m going to weight the full model before we start to eat.

This entry was posted in Communication, Food, Living in Canada, Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christmas Cake

  1. DA Gerrald says:

    I can’t say I have ever actually had a chance to try a Christmas Cake. It sounds a bit like a British christmas pudding, but in cake form. Or is it another name for fruit cake?

    • geographer70 says:

      I think Christmas cake might be a variety of fruitcake? We did this year have Christmas Pudding at my mom’s house, and Christmas Cake here. There are similarities (particularly the fruit and nuts) but they are quite different. They tend to be rather heavy (my brother refers to “the brick effect” after eating them), but I love them and to me they are part of the Christmas tradition. My parents used to put coins in the Christmas Pud for the kids to find… I understand that originally sixpence was used, about the size of a dime… but 6p was worth much more than a dime is today.

Leave a Reply

