Anyone But Harper

I hate long elections.

Most of my experience with elections has been through the American system: I lived there for almost twenty years, and suffered through a number of interminable elections. That doesn’t mean I don’t support the democratic system: but what we have here in North America is really just a shadow of what a democratic system should be. It works, but it’s far from ideal. Like many aspects of our society, what we have is a far cry from what we were promised. That being what has been passed down to us, though, we have to work within the system. And the system we have announced today the longest election period for a Canadian federal election in over a century.

I look at the field of candidates for leadership of this country: and I have to admit I’m a bit disappointed… even frightened. Much as I was shocked in 2004 (my first time actually watching the results come in) when Bush won a second term, I was equally dismayed when Harper won a third, and a majority, in 2011. It’s not that I’m against Conservative governments: I even agree with many of their principles. But most of the conservative leaders I’ve lived under (Bush, Harper, Rob Ford) have failed with regard to those principles. They’ve been profiteering demagogues who’ve equated the strength of the place they were supposed to represent to the strength of their corporate or industrial acquaintances. That’s not what I call either true power or true democracy.

Unfortunately, voters tend to have very short memories.

I’m still a bit on the fence as far as who I’ve vote for in October… 77 days away. That’s more than enough time to decide. But I do know who I’ll not vote for. I consider myself, like many Canadians, rather “independent” but also more “progressive” in my voting capacity: responsible, open, environmental, accountable… but probably most important are trustworthy and sustainable. I may not be able to find a politician who lives up to such standards, but Steven Harper has proven himself over the last ten years to be the antithesis of what I consider to be a good Prime Minister. What follows over the next few weeks are the reasons I’ll not be voting for him, for his clique or for his party. I might even get 77 of them.

If you’d like to participate, make suggestions under the hashtag #77xHarper.The list of posts will (hopefully) get quite long. I started to list them all, but a complete set can be found by acanning my “AnyoneButHarper” category.

Images/photos above are attributed to Jess Sloss on Flickr.

This entry was posted in Anyone But Harper, Beyond Materialism, Politics and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Anyone But Harper

  1. Pingback: R1: Length of Election | The Geographer's Corner

  2. Pingback: R2: Expense of Election 2015 | The Geographer's Corner

  3. Pingback: R3: You keep using that word… | The Geographer's Corner

  4. Pingback: R4: Difficult Decisions | The Geographer's Corner

  5. Pingback: R5: Harper Killed the Census | The Geographer's Corner

  6. Pingback: R6: Harper is Homophobic | The Geographer's Corner

  7. Pingback: R7: Open Data | The Geographer's Corner

  8. Pingback: R6: Privacy | The Geographer's Corner

  9. Pingback: R9: Harper believes myths, not science or reality | The Geographer's Corner

  10. Pingback: R10: Harper is Transphobic | The Geographer's Corner

  11. Pingback: R11: Harper Ended Parliament for Personal Gain | The Geographer's Corner

  12. Pingback: R12: The Afghan Detainee Issue | The Geographer's Corner

  13. Pingback: R13: Harper Government Found in Contempt | The Geographer's Corner

  14. Pingback: R14: Lackluster Effort to Curb Oil Spills | The Geographer's Corner

  15. Pingback: R15: Income splitting | The Geographer's Corner

  16. Pingback: R16: Family Status | The Geographer's Corner

Leave a Reply

