R9: Harper believes myths, not science or reality

I’m posting on the reasons I won’t vote for Stephen Harper and his party:

I speak a lot on myths and the beliefs that people have regarding homosexuality and LGBTQ people: trying to educate and assist those who have difficulty coming to terms with the orientation. There are a lot of myths out there: some more destructive than others, but all of them negative. Much though Mr. Harper tries to stay silent and to hide his beliefs and opinions regarding homosexuality (as posted yesterday), his comments are recorded in the media and until he reverses them, we must assume they are accurate.

In 2003, Harper said: “Regarding sexual orientation – or more accurately, what we are really talking about, sexual behaviour – the argument has been made by proponents of this position that this is analogous to race and ethnicity…” (Globe and Mail, 2003). He claims that the Charter of Rights and Freedoms “deliberately and explicitly” did not include sexual orientation as a protected class. The Globe ends the quote there, but other sites include a longer quote, in which Mr. Harper claims that “argument” is “vile and disgusting”. (The Tyee, 2015; Larocque et al, pg 172, 2006)

Yes, I know: that quote is over ten years old. Should we criticize the PM because of something he said over a decade ago? Until he retracts the comment, which he has steadfastly refused to do: yes.

In some of my previous writing I’ve tried to fight this myth. I don’t know about anyone else, but my attractions have been with me since childhood, and in spite of counselling in Bible College and being married to my ex-wife for a decade, I’ve only been fulfilled with regard to my “orientation” (not just my “behaviour”) since my marriage to my husband. This was the reason Exodus International failed (Bowles, 2013), and why I speak to others regarding my testimony (Bowles, 2013). Names mean a lot. In Harper’s mind, a “behaviour” (as opposed to an “orientation”) is something that can be controlled, legislated and disapproved of.

This entry was posted in Anyone But Harper and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to R9: Harper believes myths, not science or reality

  1. Pingback: R21: Harper’s Use of Science | The Geographer's Corner

Leave a Reply

