My Moody Education

I’ve attended a number of schools and experienced a lot of classes: by choice, one of my greatest goals in life has been education. It continues on to this day, and hopefully will never stop. I’ve studied physics at the University of Waterloo, Earth Science and Geography at Penn State, taught GIS at the University of Central Arkansas. And yet I must say that my favourite time of learning was the three years that I spent at Moody Bible Institute in Chicago, where I learned theology and counselling and Biblical hermeneutics. I continue to respect much of what I learned at Moody, even though we disagree on how some of the Bible should be interpreted. The years I spent there were, very much, a time of respite during which I could learn what I needed for the rest of my life, a time when laid my foundations in philosophy and perception. I learned to see the world through eyes that are different from my own. I am thankful for the friends I made there, the memories of Chicago, my time in food service and the intensity of learning so many things that were new. But mostly I’m thankful for what I learned about the Bible and how to interpret it, and how our churches have related to the Word through God’s grace.

7. I’m thankful for my Moody Education.

This entry was posted in Advent 2015. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

