Candlelight Vigil for Orlando

I was at church this morning when I was told about the shooting at the Pulse nightclub in Orlando: now the worst shooting in U.S. history, it was apparently motivated by hatred for queer people. It was a hard thing to hear; my days of “clubbing” are not so far in the past. I read the news and skimmed the blogs. I wanted to do something to help, and I came upon an announcement of a Vigil being organized. Some of my pictures are on my flickr blog: a couple are at right. There were speakers and we encouraged each other; hundreds of people showed up. I went down alone, and found a friend or two who had similarly sought (and found) human companionship. For me one of the best moments was when we all joined hands across the park, people we knew and people we didn’t know, joining our hearts together to pray for those who were affected. For those moments I think we all felt the benefits of community.

This entry was posted in Communication, Living in Canada, queer issues, Values and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Candlelight Vigil for Orlando

  1. Pingback: Letter to a Friend- re: Milo Yiannopoulos | The Qristian's Corner

Leave a Reply

