Mince Tarts

Shopping this morning, we found some mince tarts… one of my favourite Christmas traditions in our family. I’ve tried to find a reference online, but have not been able to find anything quite the same. Mince tarts are considered lucky. The custom for us included having mince tarts in December: every tart (or slice of a larger mince pie) represented good luck for one month in the coming year. Which was generally not difficult for me.

Some years, however, I’ve not quite completed the task. Last year, I remember, was a busy holiday season. So I only got ten of my twelve requisite tarts. Which took me through to October. Right up until about the time of the American election. That might help explain a few things.

So I bought a box of tarts and am all set to start December first. I may not believe a lot in lucky traditions, but I do believe that in 2017 we will need as much help as we can get.

This entry was posted in Advent 2016, Living in Canada, Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

