0904 Rudy’s Garden

If you’ve followed my pictures much at all, you’ll know that I’m fascinated by a tiered garden that has been built along the path that skirts along Black Creek, north of Finch and in the hydro corridor. It’s a beautiful, rustic, cultured area that provides a wonderful setting that is both a contrast to the wildness of the area, and part of it. I took some pictures earlier in the year, mostly of the range of flowers that grew, changing by season: the posts are not tagged, but this link should bring you to a few of them. It’s obviously not maintained by the city, but it is maintained by someone. Today in my walk I found out who.

Apparently this is known as “Rudy’s Garden”, and is kept (at least primrily?) but the gentleman in my picture for today. He is going to be celebrating his 95th birthday on September 11th, and apparently a number of people in the community are going to help. He’s been working on the garden for ten years… which is quite an effort, but it means he started this project when he was 85. Quite the legacy. I’m actually off that day, so I plan to attend. Such a gift to the community should be recognized.

A larger version of the poster an be found online. If you would like to attend the event email RudyGarden911@gmail.com.

Distance Walked: 2.91 km
Total: 784.49 km

This entry was posted in geography, Personal, Photography, Walks2020 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment