0726 Grundy Quiet

This is one of my pictures from Grundy Lake. It may not look like much, but to me it represents the whole reason I went up north on that day near the end of July, in the midst of a pandemic. I live several hours drive to the south of where I took this picture; I live quite close to Highway 400, and within a few km of where it intersects with with the 401. One of the busiest intersections in the world. My life isn’t really quite that bad, but sometimes it seems so.

Even in the midst of a pandemic, it’s hard to get some real alone time. Because doing things with and for people takes so much longer than it once did. So time to actually focus on my expression seems even less than it did before I worked from home. I needed a day to get away from the city, away from daily pressure, and just enjoy myself.

I needed to enjoy the clouds.

Because I went for a single day, I knew I was safe from the weather. The original plan had been to drive up the day before, and spend two nights: but the forecast has been bad (storms) so I just put it off. You can do that when you’re the only one on the guest list. I didn’t take a tarp; I didn’t take rain gear. I brought a pair of running shoes and some sandals. I knew that if Bill Coulter was wrong (never!) and it turned out that enough rain came to mess up my night in the north, I could always just throw everything in the car and just drive home.

But the weather (and Bill) cooperated. It was a beautiful day. Like this one.

Distance Walked: 4.80 km
Total: 671.25 km

This entry was posted in geography, Personal, Photography, Walks2020 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment